A Forced Hobby

Running to me is a forced hobby.  I am one of those people who cannot even fathom the thought of being born a runner.  I hate the before and sometimes the during but its the after that gets me wanting more.  On September 9th, 2010 I crossed the finish line of my first 5k alongside my sister and my dad.  A first race for all three of us.  It was a great achievement and honestly it felt easy!  I was strolling alongside my family in Southern California with a finish line at Ocean Blvd in Santa Monica.  Does it get much better then that for a first race.  I somewhat began to enjoy the race, the consistency of training for it (again this is an after thought) and the time to myself and my own thoughts that running provided.

So shockingly this past weekend I signed up for a new challenge.  I think my cockiness came out when I re-think me putting down money to complete this next race. I can nowhere near say with an enthusiasm that I am currently feeling excited about the Xterra Boney Mountain 6k.  A trail run in the Santa Monica Mountains with a bottom elevation of 525 and a top of 1050.  But again its the after that makes me want it more.  So on January 9th, 2011 Chris and I will run the 6k through the Santa Monica mountains! (forced exclamation point)

Boney Mountain Map

Until my next physical feat…

2 thoughts on “A Forced Hobby

Leave a Reply

