New Beginnings

I often obsess about starting new, about planning my next big dream, about figuring out how to make that dream happen. A personality trait that both I and my loved ones loathe and adore about me. What it means for me is life is continuously changing or attempting too. That I come up with grandiose ideas that either stick or fall by the waste side. That I love creating new possibilities and seeing if they are right to adopt to my life or if they become a piece in my puzzle of unmet and forgotten dreams. It means I am inspired in a pinch and that my inspiration fuels my everyday being.

It often comes in the form of people I meet, journeys they have lived, roads they have traveled, or successes they have had.  I am fueled by seeing others passionate about their experiences and accomplishments.  I too want to share stories so full of passion that they are bursting at the seams.  As it’s now a new year and a time for resolutions — commitments to live out.  I contemplate the things I have wanted to do or have inspired me in 2010.

Recent things that have fueled my fire…

  • Brew Masters, a tv show on the Discovery Channel, documenting the life, entrepreneurial efforts, and passion of Dogfish Head Brewery‘s founder, Sam Calagione.  The man dreams big, passion extrudes out of his every word and decision.  He travels the globe in attempt to learn and recreate brewing techniques and flavors from civilizations that have come before us.  Calagione runs his company by instilling a reality in all employees that they own and are an integral part of the Dogfish Head family.  The inspiration for his creations and his brewery — “Off-centered stuff for off-centered people.”  How awesome would it be if I could find something that I am that passionate about, bringing success to myself and those who are working for the same dream?
  • Snowbasin, Utah & The Townsends – A trip to the powder and a family with a passion for skiing was all I needed to rekindle my love for the mountains and my enthusiasm for skiing.  Wouldn’t it be great if we could live in the mountains and I could teach ski school in the winter and be a river rafting guide in the summer?
  • South America –  My next travel destination.  The culture, the passion of the people, the food, and the diversity of their ecosystem thrills my wanderlust.  Where? When? How?
  • Chris’ Dream to be a Marine Geologist –  A career path that could lead us around the world.  I could write perhaps?  A book about traveling the globe.  I so often am searching for something that rationalizes my urge to drop everything and live abroad doing something I wake up every morning beyond thrilled to do.  Why not write about it?  A rock climbing guide on the crags of Thailand.  A food tour host in the streets of Tokyo.  A cafe owner on a beach in South America. A travel writing food critic who’s exotic taste buds transform on paper.  Or a student studying for her graduate degree in Australia.

Okay!  I know now you all think I have gone nuts, but this is honestly what happens inside my head on a daily basis.  So today in the beginning of a new year.  I will put down on paper somethings I want to end 2011 having accomplished.  They may not be as elaborate as the above but I have previous goals that must come to a close before I can begin planning the above.

1.  A food/restaurant diary –  I recently read about a woman and her husband who loved to try new things.  They traveled their city, once a week in search of new eats and new places to experience.  After every meal they would jot down a few notes to remember the food, the conversation, the atmosphere or the drink.  They would staple a business card next to each entry.  She recalled on the memories 10 years down the road not only of the food but of all the amazing meals they had spent together.

2.  Swim/Workout/Run 5x a week –  Participate in two athletic competitions within the year.

3.  Blog at least 1x a week –  Take my blogging to the next level, begin to share on other blogs to become part of the community and increase traffic to the site.

4.  Bike to Work everyday (starting Jan. 26th).  Now that my office is 1.3 miles from home I am going to bike to work everyday.  Since all of our bikes were recently stolen, I have set out to purchase one before Chris starts school.  I say this one like I have an option 🙂  I have handed over the keys of my car to Chris to commute to CSULB…I guess I am already committed 🙂

5.  Read at least 10 books.  My 2011 Must Reads:

  1. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest – Stieg Larsson
  2. First Comes Love, Then Comes Malaria: How a Peace Corps Poster Boy Won My Heart & A Third World Adventure Changed My Life –  Eve Brown-Waite
  3. Zeitoun – Dave Eggers
  4. Unbroken: Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption – Laura Hillenbrand
  5. The Imperfectionist: A Novel – Tom Rachman
  6. Decoded – Jay Z
  7. Misadventure in the Middle East: Travels as a Tramp, Artist and Spy – Henry Hemming
  8. Just Kids – Patti Smith
  9. Adventure Divas:  Searching the Globe for Women that are Changing the World – Holly Morris
  10. 360 Degrees Longitude: One Family’s Journey Around the World – John Higham

6.  Begin saving for my next big adventure… destination unknown…

 

Leave a Reply

